Curry On Up

Last Friday I took home some cabbage from Truly Living Well’s farm. A part from coleslaw and salad, I haven’t cooked much with cabbage, but my mom used to put it in her pot roast, which I kinda hated. Sorry mom :/. Since I don’t eat beef anymore I needed to think of something else. I was craving some type of warm stew even though it was 60 degrees in ATL during the end of January. Thank you climate change.

I didn’t care if I was going to be sweating while eating this. I love hot foods, both temperature-wise and spicy-wise.

So this Indian-inspired soup is perfect. It’s not too hot in the spice department and is perfect for a cold winter day. The soup includes cauliflower, but you can easily substitute or add any other veggies like broccoli. This recipe is super simple and can be ready in less than 20 minutes. Great for people like me who don’t always want or have the time to spend an hour+ on cooking dinner.

Curried Cabbage Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tsps olive oil
  • 4 tsps curry powder
  • 1 lb savoy cabbage (trimmed and chopped)
  • 2 onions (peeled and finely chopped)
  • 1/2 lb cauliflower (broken into florets)
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsps ginger
  • salt to taste

Method:

  1. Heat oil in a saucepan. Add onions and saute until golden.
  2. Add chopped cabbage and cauliflower. Add curry powder, salt, and ginger.
  3. Saute for a few minutes, then add broth. Bring to a boil then let simmer for 10 minutes.
  4. Serve as is or alongside some rice.

Now this soup tastes so much better the next day. Rashid Nuri, the founder of TLW, once told me that curry always tastes better the next day and I believe it. I served this alongside some leftover rice and beans. Perfect easy weeknight dinner!

Hope you enjoy!

Peace,

-Jenn

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Curry On Up

Leave a Reply

