Happy National Pizza Day!

It “snowed” today in Atlanta, a.k.a. light flurries that melted once it hit the ground. Even though I’m from the North and went to school in upstate NY where temperatures regularly hit below 20 in the winter, I have become used to warm Southern temps. Today barely hit below 32 , which is pretty cold considering in was like 60 degrees last week.

Anyway, today is a great day because it’s NATIONAL PIZZA DAY! When I found out it was National Pizza Day I thought huh, I should make my own personal ‘za for dinner tonight. I thought about what I had sitting in my fridge…collards and kale from Truly Living Well, and Parmesan. Bam! I would make pesto pizza! Since tomatoes are sadly not in season right pesto pizza would be perfect for this cold winter day.

So in honor of #NationalPizzaDay I present to you….

drum-roll please….

Winter Greens Pesto Pizza with Caramelized Onions

pesto pizza

Ingredients:

  • Whole-wheat dough (pre-packaged or prepared fresh. I made mine from scratch, recipe here)
  • Pesto:
    • a few kale and collard green leaves
    • olive or other nut oil (I used walnut)
    • a handful of Parmesan cheese
    • 1/4 cup walnuts
    • a pinch of salt
  • Ricotta cheese
  • Half of a yellow onion

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
  2. Prepare pesto: Bring a pot to a boil and add kale and collards for 45 seconds. Remove from heat and let cool. Cut off stems and add all pesto ingredients to a food processor. Pulse for a few minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, heat a pan with oil. Add onions and saute for a few minutes.
  4. Prepare dough. Lightly flour a flat surface and roll out dough, adding flour if needed.  Flatten into a small personal-pan sized pizza crust.
  5. Spread pesto on to crust. Add a few dollops of ricotta cheese, caramelized onions, and extra kale.
  6. Use parchment paper or grease a pan and place pizza on top.
  7. Cook for 10-15 minutes or until your crust is crispy enough
  8. Eat your personal pizza!

You can really use your own desired ingredients for the pesto and add any toppings you want. I used what I had on hand, but this would taste really good with some sun-dried tomatoes or mushrooms.

Experiment and have fun!

Peace,

-Jenn

 

 

Leave a Reply

